New Hampshire Tattoo License

New Hampshire Tattoo License

Do you want to obtain a New Hampshire tattoo license? If this is your current dream, stay with us and learn about the main steps you need to take and the requirements to meet to achieve your goal.

How to Get a License to Tattoo?

In the state, to acquire a tattoo license, residents should submit their applications together with other necessary documents to the state Office of Professional Licensure and Certification.

Before applying, applicants should have at least one year of experience in an apprenticeship at a tattoo shop.
Among the most common requirements are the following:

  • Be 18 years old or older
  • Have prior apprenticeship
  • Submit proof of attending a sterilizing course
  • Hepatitis B vaccine existence

Most states have almost similar requirements. However, there are still locations where there are no licensing rules. For instance, in Arizona and Illinois, residents do not need a permit to work as tattoo artists. However, New Hampshire authorities think that health is above anything, and they do their best to ensure their residents’ well-being. Thus, certain laws and rules keep the sector safe and sound.

New Hampshire Tattoo License Application Process

After checking that you comply with the main pre-conditions, your first step must be filing a completed application form. It is possible to do it both online and in person. If you choose the in-person option, be sure to download all the documents and forms, print them and bring them with you to the Department. There is also a compulsory fee of $110. Remember that, at this point, only online application forms are acceptable.

One of the most common questions that concern future specialists is how long it will take them to reach their goal. Well, it highly depends on the person. Anyway, given that it takes at least a year for an apprenticeship, in some cases even up to five years, the answer will be that NH residents need a minimum of one year.

Also, it is important to note that you cannot always work with this license in other states. You will need to get additional certificates and documents to be allowed to work.


The NH tattoo license is valid for two years. After this period, there arises a need to renew it. Renewals are also completed online. There is a 60-day period for that. The payment is also done online via Mastercard, Visa, Discover, and American Express.

As in the case of licensing, renewal requires the same payment of $110.


The salary information is perhaps one of the most important and pleasant parts. The average NH annual income comprises about $47, 000. This amount, however, can vary. It can be less (about $35, 000), and more than $47,000. This difference largely depends on the specialist’s experience, skills, certificates, etc.

If you consider working in other states, there are higher-paying locations, where the average salary can reach up to $90, 000. Some of these states are Wisconsin, New York, and Indiana.

Whichever the path, we wish you success in your new beginnings.

Zara N

Zara N

Zara is a content writer and a psychologist. She loves both of her professions with passion. The spheres she has chosen seem totally different. Anyway, she has so far succeeded in combining and linking them. Zara works as a family psychologist daytime and in the evenings she immerses in writing. Besides working as a content writer, she has managed to write her own books. She is an author of a psychological book for parents called “Some issues on upbringing”. She also writes therapeutic stories for children. Right now Zara is writing (or trying to write) her first psychological novel.